Mailbox Review: Seven Men

A mailbox review of Eric Metaxas’ Seven Men

Metaxas consciously places his Seven Men in the tradition of Plutarch’s Lives of the Noble Greeks and Romans or Foxe’s Book of Martyrs—biographical works intended chiefly to hold up the conduct and character of certain men as examples for readers to emulate (or avoid). He has sketched the lives of seven famed Christian men in order to commend their exemplarySevenMenCoverArt behavior to all readers, but especially to young men, who “especially need role models. If we can’t point to anyone in history or in our culture whom they should emulate, then they will emulate whomever.” With that in mind, he has selected seven figures who share the distinction of “Christian manliness,” and recounted their amazing lives in elegant and natural prose.

The lives Metaxas has chosen are remarkable and the men who lived them deserve to be talked about and lifted up as examples of Godly obedience: William Wilberforce and his lifelong crusade to end slavery, George Washington’s refusal to become a tyrant after the war, Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s outspoken opposition to religious apathy in Nazi Germany, Eric Liddell’s refusal to run his best Olympic event on the Sabbath and his death as a humble missionary to China, Jackie Robinson’s victorious example of Christic submission in the face of slander and violence, Pope John Paul II’s vigor and vocal opposition to the 20th century forces of racism, fascism, and socialism, and Chuck Colson’s shocking surrender to Jesus as he gave up political influence, willingly went to prison for his involvement in the Watergate scandal, and gave the rest of his life ministering Christ to prisoners. Metaxas laments that hypercriticism has sometimes prevented us from coming into our cultural inheritance as heirs of these great men and their influence. It shouldn’t be ignored that Washington was a lifelong slave owner, for example, or that Bonhoeffer was essentially executed for his role in a conspiracy to commit murder, but in too many cases “We’ve gone from the extreme of being naïve to the other extreme of being critical.” Though Metaxas himself usually errors in the direction of the former extreme, he does an excellent job recovering and displaying what was and is most admirable and imitable in these men.

These are not substantive or scholarly biographies so much as they are vignettes, and that seems only partially to do with the length. Metaxas’ longer books on Wilberforce and Bonhoeffer, successful as they’ve been, suffer from the same flaws as these seven sketches. He excels, to his credit, at telling men’s life stories in a vivid, engaging way that makes his biographies worthy reads. However, he (formerly a writer for VeggieTales) has an occasional tendency to over-Evangelicize non-Evangelical figures (like Bonhoeffer, Liddell) and his general vision of history is often myopic. He contends, for example, that the modern contempt/distrust of authority is a direct result of the Watergate scandal. While his instinct to find a connection between the two is correct, he seems to severely over-exaggerate the causal significance of the scandal and fail to apprehend more significant forces at work in earlier decades, even centuries. In another place he claims that until Wilberforce and his friends began their work to change English culture, the “ideas of helping the poor and those less fortunate were essentially unknown” and as a result of Wilberforce’s effort, “those changes have been with the West ever since.” Again, Metaxas correctly identifies an important historical moment, but wildly overemphasizes its centrality. Not to mention the fact that “helping the poor and less fortunate” is a chief tenant of the gospel, and most certainly known to the West apart from Wilberforce’s work, as important and praiseworthy as it was.

Overall, the aims of the book are all commendable and all successfully achieved. Seven Men is not critically sophisticated, but it is very approachable and will be an interesting, informative, and fruitful read for anyone, making an especially great gift or recommendation for young people.

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book gratis from the publisher, and was not required to give a favorable review.

Advertisements

One comment on “Mailbox Review: Seven Men

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s